Skip to main content
Blog
This article isn't translated yet — you're seeing the original version.
Ingredientes

Six Businesses in Canada Nixtamalize. Three Will Sell You the Masa.

Sep 25, 202610 min read(Updated: Sep 28, 2026)

Who actually cooks corn with lime in Canada, with addresses and real prices in CAD. Fresh masa from $9.50 a kilo, Maseca at $6.11, and why food-grade lime is the hard part.

Canada has a real nixtamalization scene. It is also tiny, coastal, and built by individuals rather than by neighbourhood tortillerías.

We went looking for businesses that describe the whole process in their own words — whole corn, lime, a mill — rather than businesses that say "authentic" and grind flour. We found six. Three of them will sell you masa, and only two publish a price for it.

Everything below was read on the shops' own sites. Prices in Canadian dollars, read 24 and 25 September 2026.

Who actually cooks the corn with lime

BusinessWhereMasa to the public?
Xinachtli2408 Grant St, East VancouverYes, priced
Maizal TortilleriaToronto farmers' marketsYes, priced
Tortilla Maker of Canada2003 St Joseph Blvd, Orléans (Ottawa)Yes, wholesale only
MAiiZ Nixtamal540 Fisgard St, Victoria, BCNot stated
Chancho2096 Commercial Dr, VancouverNot stated
Terraza Luz1231 Av. Lajoie, Outremont, MontrealNo — Sunday pop-up

That is the list. There is a seventh name that comes up constantly and is not on it; it appears at the end, with the reason.

Xinachtli states three ingredients: corn, water, limestone. Heirloom conical criollo corn from Tlaxcala and the State of Mexico, nixtamalized in small batches and stone-ground to order. No Maseca, no corn flour, no additives.

MAiiZ Nixtamal in Victoria describes the steps in unusual detail: dry grains boiled in an alkaline solution with slaked lime — calcium hydroxide — left to rest overnight, drained, rinsed, then run through a specialised mill to fresh masa. Their corn is certified organic and grown in Armstrong, British Columbia. That is a nixtamal supply chain entirely inside the province.

Chancho buys corn directly from 32 Indigenous communities in Oaxaca, nixtamalizes, soaks, grinds and turns it into masa — corn and water only. The chalkboard in the shop gives the region, the community, the altitude and the producing family. We have not seen another Canadian business do that.

Tortilla Maker of Canada, in Orléans, cooks and rests dry grains in lime water, rinses off the pericarp and mills to masa. Its wholesale page states it can supply businesses with corn tortillas, chips, nixtamal corn, corn dough (masa) and tamales in any quantity. No prices. Phone 613-841-9191.

Terraza Luz nixtamalizes every night and grinds fresh masa every morning, using ancestral corn varieties. They also say something no one else in Canada says out loud: most of the tortillas in Montreal are made with Maseca.

What fresh masa costs

Read directly from the two product pages on 25 September 2026.

Xinachtli, East Vancouver, sold by weight with a real volume discount:

QuantityPrice$/kg
1 kg$18.00$18.00
5 kg$75.00$15.00
10 kg$135.00$13.50

Maizal, at the Toronto markets: stone-ground masa by the kilo, listed at $10.00 and currently $9.50.

So fresh nixtamalized masa in Canada runs from $9.50 to $18.00 a kilo depending on which coast you are on and how much you buy. That is not a small spread, and both are real listed prices on the producers' own sites.

For comparison, Maseca at 1.8 kg for $10.99 — the same price at Mi Tierra Latina in Vancouver and at Bienvenidos Latin Market in Ottawa, two unconnected shops — works out to $6.11 a kilo of flour. And a kilo of flour makes considerably more than a kilo of dough once you hydrate it, so the real gap between instant flour and fresh masa is wider than the two numbers suggest. We are not going to state a hydration ratio we have not measured, so take the direction, not a multiple.

Maizal was evicted, and its own website has not caught up

This one needs saying plainly, because you will find both versions.

Maizal's homepage, read 25 September 2026, says: "We were evicted from Ossington on short notice... Our tortillería will return soon, and until then you can find us at our farmers' markets." Products, it says, are available only at the farmers' markets:

  • The Stop Farmers Market — Saturday 8 am to 1 pm
  • Trinity Bellwoods Farmers Market — Tuesday 3 pm to 7 pm
  • Leslieville Farmers Market — Sunday 9 am to 2 pm

And the same website's header, and its Contact page, still give 110 Ossington Ave, Toronto, in the back of a bar called Baby Huey, open Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday, 11 am to 3 pm.

Both are on the same domain right now. The homepage is the more specific and more recent of the two statements, so go to the markets, not to Ossington — but do not be surprised by the address in the header, and if you want certainty, ask them. Maizal has been growing maize and grinding nixtamal since 2012, their corn comes from family farms in the Ontario Greenbelt and the Ottawa Valley, and they ship as far as Alberta.

Their market list, on the same page: fresh tortillas $6.00 per half kilo, masa $9.50 a kilo, a bag of totopos $7.00, cochinita pibil taco filling $28.00.

What fresh tortillas cost against the industrial ones

Where both are sold by weight, the comparison is clean:

TortillaPrice$/kg
Maizal, fresh nixtamal$6.00 / 500 g$12.00
La Tortilla Veloz, white corn (Bienvenidos, Ottawa)$4.29 / 1 kg$4.29

Roughly three times. That is the price of a tortilla made from corn instead of from flour, and it is not an unreasonable premium once you have eaten one.

Where shops sell by the piece, the same pattern holds. Xinachtli's 12 cm tortillas are $9.50 a dozen — 79 cents each — falling to 68 cents at ten dozen; 14 cm are $10.50 a dozen and 16 cm $12.00. Industrial corn tortillas at El Mariachi Market run $5.99 for 30 Don Pancho (20 cents each) or $10.99 for 90 La Vikina (12 cents each). Santa Rosa, 90 pieces at Mi Tierra Latina, is $10.93.

We are not converting the piece prices to per-kilo, because none of those listings publishes a package weight.

Maseca yes, Minsa no — with a caveat

Maseca is genuinely available in Canada, and in more formats than you would expect. At El Mariachi Market, which ships nationwide from Burnaby: Maseca Yellow 1 kg $7.49, Maseca 4 lb $12.99, Maseca Tamal 4 lb $13.99, Maseca Antojitos 2 lb $6.85. Yes — Maseca for tamales exists in Canada.

Real Canadian Superstore lists a Maseca 1.8 kg and Walmart.ca a Maseca 2 kg. The products exist; both listings are behind an anti-bot wall and we have no price for either.

Minsa did not appear in any accessible Canadian retailer. Not one. Nor did blue Maseca. We want to be precise about what that means: we could read the catalogues of a handful of Latin shops and were locked out of every large chain, so not found is not the same as not sold. If you know where Minsa is stocked in Canada, that is a real gap in what is publicly documented.

And Masienda does not ship to Canada — its own FAQ says it does not take international orders, and its free shipping is limited to the contiguous United States, with even reshipping restricted to the original domestic address. Every guide that recommends Masienda heirloom masa flour to a Canadian reader is recommending something you cannot buy.

The national brand that has no 100% corn tortilla

Casa Mendosa, a Wonderbrands brand and the most visible "corn" tortilla in Canadian supermarkets, lists on its own catalogue: Original, whole wheat, protein, spinach, tomato basil, XL burrito, and a "50/50 Corn-Wheat". There is no 100% corn product in it.

One search result cites a "Casa Mendosa 100% Corn Small Tortillas" on wonderbrands.com. We could not open that page. The contradiction is unresolved, and we are recording it rather than deciding it. What we can say is what the brand's own consumer catalogue shows, and it shows a half-wheat tortilla.

Que Pasa, the Richmond, BC brand now under Nature's Path, says it grinds whole corn between volcanic stones "in the traditional Mexican way." It does not say it nixtamalizes, and its current catalogue is tortilla chips, salsas and tostadas — not soft corn tortillas. We looked for the claim; it is not there.

We also could not read the ingredient lists of any of the industrial corn tortillas — Don Pancho, La Vikina, La Milpa, Casa Mendosa, Que Pasa. Not one listing published them. So whether any of them is 100% corn, with no wheat and no gums, is unverified for all of them.

The real obstacle is lime, not masa

If you want to nixtamalize at home in Canada, the corn is not the problem. Canned hominy is easy: Faraón white hominy 850 g at $5.19 (Mi Tierra Latina), Juanitas 25 oz $6.35, El Mexicano 27 oz $6.30.

Food-grade calcium hydroxide — cal — did not appear in the catalogue of either accessible Mexican-Canadian shop. Searching "cal" in both returned Cal C Tose, chile California, a comal and canola oil. No calcium hydroxide.

We did not find dry cacahuazintle corn either — only canned hominy.

There is a practical way around both, and it is the most useful thing in this article: Tortilla Maker in Orléans sells already-nixtamalized corn and masa in any quantity. If you are in eastern Ontario, you can skip the lime entirely.

What the label law says, which is almost nothing

There is no prescribed common name in Canada for masa harina, corn flour or cornmeal. The CFIA's guidance on common names for grain and bakery products does not mention any of the three; its prescribed standards point to the Canadian Food Compositional Standards for wheat flour and bread.

The general common-name rule is that, absent a prescribed name, a food must carry the name it is generally known by or a non-generic descriptive name, in English and French — and that foreign names are accepted where consumers already recognise them (pizza, taco, sushi) and otherwise need a description.

Translation: a bag on a Canadian shelf can say "masa harina" or "corn flour" fairly freely, and the words on the front will not tell you whether the corn was nixtamalized. The producer's own description is the only thing that will.

Three domains to be careful with

latortilleria.ca — the domain a Toronto tortilla business uses as its identifier on social media — now returns a permanent 301 to an online casino aimed at Canadian players. Its Dufferin Street location is listed as closed. Three researchers on this project found the redirect independently.

rosalindarestaurant.com serves sports betting in Indonesian. fondalola.com serves slots and lottery in Indonesian. Both checked twice.

And two that are not Canadian at all, but come up when you search with "Canada": tortillerianixtamal.com is in Corona, Queens, New York, and nixtamaiz.myshopify.com is in Aalsmeer, in the Netherlands, pricing in euros. Neither should be cited as a Canadian source.

The blanks on the map

No verified nixtamalizing tortillería was found in Calgary, Edmonton, Winnipeg, Halifax or Quebec City. One Facebook advertisement from Edmonton mentions using nixtamal, with no verifiable business name behind it. Ottawa is covered, by Tortilla Maker.

El Trompo, in Kensington Market, Toronto, is the answer Reddit gives most often to "where do I get fresh tortillas." A blog says they press their own corn tortillas. There is no statement from the business itself that they nixtamalize, so we are not putting them on the list — only in this paragraph.

Tortilleria Maya in Montreal appears at three different addresses across sources: 7016 av. Casgrain, 5274 boul. Saint-Laurent, and the Jean-Talon market, plus a Facebook video placing it in Saint-Léonard. We record all of them and vouch for none.

And one caution about our own reporting: Tortilleria Leamington, in Essex County, Ontario, makes corn tortillas by hand — that is verified on its own listing. That it nixtamalizes is not verified, and we are not going to imply it by putting it in the same sentence as the seven above.

Edmond Bojalil
Edmond Bojalil

Founder, Recetas Mexas

Mexican from Puebla, IT professional and foodie. Author of 1000+ authentic Mexican recipes adapted for home kitchens worldwide. Based in Madrid since 2018.

Read more